HOW SPECIAL?

12 Nov

As predictable as the sources of my bibliographical bounty are, the US Mail may be the last outpost of surprise—occasionally even pleasant.

I received one of those brown cards that announce an attempted mail delivery and when I when to my local PO to retrieve the package it was tightly wrapped in cellophane and indicated an address in Uruguay and a customs sticker listing the contents as ‘uno libro’

I began hoping that I was receiving some advance copy of an Eduardo Galeano book( a hope stoked by his kindness in sending me an inscribed copy of Mirrors

Nope. What I did receive was copy of the first English translation Trifles for A Massacre by Louis Ferdinand Celine. Published by Editions de LA Reconquete, it is claimed to be Celine’s masterpiece.

Additionally,the book  was a  numbered copy 11 of a limited edition of 5010.

Leave a Reply

