My Coffee with Andre

3 May

I recently resumed my conversation with Andre Dubus Tres ( It began in 2001 here) which you can find here. We, of course chat about his new opus, Townie: A Memoir. He says some smart things about memoir and autobiography:

I think of my mother-in-law who lives with us, a beautiful lady. She’s 89. She was on the phone with someone and she said, “Well, he has written his autobiography.” Not my autobiography—that’s like a life story. Who cares about me? It’s a memoir, and my take on the memoir is that you can write 10 memoirs about a life. Twenty. You can write about having been a father. You can write about being a carpenter. Being married and divorced five times. Whatever your experience is.

That’s right. So there Lorrie Moore.

One Response to “My Coffee with Andre”

  1. Glenn May 10, 2011 at 4:22 am #

    I really like your interviews. We share a similar political orientation, love of literature and baseball-playing sons.

    Andre is one of my favorite writers.

    But I gotta say after reading about the bruisers you two have that my son Benny, a senior in high school, second baseman and leadoff hitter on his team in East San Jose, if 5-7, 130, all speed no power. Where’d your boys get the size?

Leave a Reply

