Sturm and Scribble

26 Aug

Not to take anything from Larry Tye’s illuminating biography of baseball legend Satchel Paige but James Sturm (and Rich Tommaso’s) Satchel Paige: Striking Out Jim Crow (Hyperion/Center for Cartoon Studies Book) graphic rendering was an immensely appealing account of the crafty old hurler’s life story.

That Sturm’s book comes to mind is a result of my stumbling across a charming piece (complete with droll and wry cartoons) by Sturm,“How Hard Is It To Get a Cartoon Into The New Yorker?”. He concludes (this is not a spoiler):

I didn’t feel like a failure, but, listening to Sipress, I did suddenly feel like a fraud. This wasn’t where I belonged as a cartoonist, and if by some miracle I were able to sell one of my 50 cartoons, I would be taking a slot away from someone more deserving. There would be no more submissions. I had already wasted enough of everyone’s time.

By the way James Sturm’s America: God, Gold, and Golems (Drawn & Quarterly)is also an absorbing piece of work and useful piece of historical narrative— a good access point to America’s history.

Currently reading The Forgotten Waltz Anne Enright (WW Norton)

2 Responses to “Sturm and Scribble”

  1. Carl Quinlan September 10, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    Yeah, Sturm made the right decision. There’s something painfully unfunny about the current crop of NYer cartoons, and I’m not sure 25 years of struggle would exactly be a feather in his cap.

    I look at collections of NYer cartoons from past decades, and they are truly hilarious. I’m not sure what the problem is nowadays.

  2. robertbirnbaum September 10, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

    Right on both counts

Leave a Reply

