WHAT HAVE I DONE FOR YOU LATELY?

9 Jan

Like the fairy tale where a character drops bread crumbs as they are being led through the forest to enable a pathway back, I have been leaving small tidbits of my work around the Internet. Also, there may be those among you curious enough, having discovered this remote haven of incongruities, grumblings and shrieks of delight who, having been dazzled by various locutions, displays of Wildean wit and sheer breadth of interests, whose whole being throb for more, more, more. Thus, I feel a certain obligation to point out highlights of my recent and not recent (if not grander) accomplishments.

If you have been to Patti Smith’s abode you may find a print of William Burroughs 1968 adoring one of her walls.

William Burroughs Chicago 1968 by Robert Birnbaum

William Burroughs Chicago 1968 by Robert Birnbaum

And then there is a photograph of Joan Didion circa 1995, favorite of thieving online art directors and clatterers

Joan Didon by Robert Birnbaum

Joan Didon by Robert Birnbaum

Thankfully, mostly to Howard’s good work my portrait of Howard Zinn I actually received some reproduction fees this 2001 image;

Howard Zinn by Robert Birnbaum

Howard Zinn by Robert Birnbaum

As is my long standing eccentricity I spend what is perhaps an inordinate amount of time chatting with authors. Mostly because I spend an inordinate amount of time reading. Here’s some of my recent, uh, work:

A conversation with Ben Anastas author of Too Good To Be True at IdentityTheory. You’ll find gems like this, “There is a strange and abiding prestige, a strange and abiding cultural juice that comes from being a writer. Having seen the reality of it, it doesn’t make a whole lot of sense to me.”

Young Charley YU‘s recent story collection recent Sorry Please Thank You follows his highly regarded ‪How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe‬, neither of which we talk much about

Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walter is a masterpiece.

And overnight sensation Ben Fountain whose Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk wason almost everyone’s Best of 2012 list could do without Dallas Texas. How do I know? Cuz he says so.

And there is my aggregatorial/curatorial gesturing like this piece for the Virginia Quarterly Review on-line and the Daily Beast

ANd here’s my hound Beny and my son Cuba

Cuba and Beny

Cuba and Beny

Currently reading Tenth of December by George Saunders (Knopf)

Leave a Reply

