Autobiography/Memoir in 365 Parts.

11 Mar

11 March 2015

Robert Birnbaum was born in a displaced persons camp in Europe in 1947 and landed in Chicago in 1952. He briefly resided near Wrigley Field before his family decamped for Chicago’s Golden Ghetto. Despite a subpar college education, he has made a reading lifelong. His two guiding principles are, “Is it good for the Jews?” and “The sports team from my locale is superior to the sports team from your locale.” He resides in 02465 with his pooch Beny.

4 Responses to “Autobiography/Memoir in 365 Parts.”

  1. Harvey I Friedson March 11, 2015 at 9:50 pm #

    Hi Robert,

    I knew, of course, that you were born in Europe, but did not know that you lived there for your first four or five years. I am curious. What was your first language? Do you retain any of it? What language did your parents speak during your early childhood?

    Harvey

    • robertbirnbaum March 11, 2015 at 10:58 pm #

      Harvey

      German was my first language and I did retain it enough to take 2 or 3 years of it in college. Though my recall was blurred by Yiddish. My father spoke 5 languages (Russian,Polish,German,Yiddish and English)—he and my mother spoke Polish when they wanted to talk over me…

      • Harvey Friedson March 11, 2015 at 11:25 pm #

        That must be why you got to play chess with Mr. Wagner while the rest of us pretended to study.

  2. robertbirnbaum March 11, 2015 at 11:35 pm #

    Wow, there’s something I blocked out of my memory. And I swore remembered eveything

Leave a Reply

